Skip navigation

I had come into the course not knowing what to expect, the whole community aspect I knew about but was always on the sidelines watching in. I had built small programs before nothing really notes worthy but I had wondered how some of the programs got placed into linux distributions. I learnt how much work has to go into getting a package readily for a fedora distribution and the steps that need to take place for it to be approved.

The major project was where I found I got to really get my hands dirty in the community aspect. My approach was very hap hazard from release to release with no real idea of what my next step would be moving from 0.1 to 0.2 and 0.2 to 0.3. With the guidance of Chris Tyler I was able to get a grip of ideas that would be use full for my project and I mowed ahead. I was able to successfully complete my 0.1 and 0.2 which were getting the PandaBoards in the build farm to see and use more than the 512 MB which is only half the RAM. My 0.2 was to remove the reservation of RAM to VRAM.  Once those two releases where done the PandaBoard where now able to use over 900 MB when they where originally seeing 460 MB. Due to machine failure I was not able to complete my 0.3 which was build factor optimization for the PandaBoard on koji.

This course has given me a reason to reach out into the community and give something back my built MLO and u-boot.bin and part of my video driver less uImage are being used on the PandaBoard build farm for arm.koji. I can say that I have enjoyed this course much more than I thought I would have and looking back I am sure I have gained some skills and knowledge that I will use somewhere down the line either continuing in the community or at work.

Leave a Reply

